hissip

HISSIP EXCLUSIVE: Shoot Down Documentary Premiere

In Cristina Khuly, Movies on January 22, 2008 at 2:20 pm

Here’s La Cubanita Cristina Khuly at the Miami premiere of her documentary Shoot Down.

cristinak.jpg

Shoot Down chronicles the 1996 Cuban government-ordained shooting down of volunteer planes that were helping Cuban refugees who coming to Florida in rafters.  Cristina explained the motive behind making the film:

shootdown2.jpg   shootdown23.jpg    shootdwn.jpg

“My goals in making the film are two-fold. First my Uncle was one of the men killed that day, so I feel personally motivated to make sure people understand the facts about the incident.  Also I’m Cuban-American and I feel we as a community are misunderstood.  I have heard people refer to us as “right-wing nuts” or the “Cuban Mafia” and that kind of rhetoric is hurtful and untrue.”

And about her reaction about how the movie’s received so far:

“I guess I feel that I have done my community proud not just by making the film but by getting it into a situation where it has the opportunity to be  a theatrical success. The film is opening January 25th on over 20 screens, thus bringing an extremely important story to a mainstream audience.  I think Cuban-Americans have not had many such opportunities and I’m thrilled to be blazing this trail for other filmmakers.”

Latinas are doing it for themselves, thank you very much.  

[pics: doc stills Claudia Raschke-Robinson, CrissyK pic Gayle O]

  1. Cristina: I don’t know if you will remember me. My name is Maria Elena Fernandez and I graduated from Conchita with your sister, Patty, long ago. I live in Los Angeles. I’m a journalist and I write for the LA Times but my mother saw the story of your documentary in the Herald and remembered you. She sent me the clip. Congratulations! I am very proud of you and look forward to hopefully seeing the film. (Any of idea when it might reach LA?). I’m very interested in all things Cuban and, like you, get really tired of the Cuban Mafia perspective people have of all of us. I hope you and your family are well.

    Maria Elena

Leave a Reply

